Nameless Queen

Nameless Queen

One girl must make a name for herself--or die trying --in this royal fantasy where an unknown peasant becomes the ultimate ruler. But how long can she keep the crown if everyone wants her dead? Perfect for fans of Furyborn, Red Queen, and Everless.Everyone expected the king's daughter would inherit the throne. No one expected me. It shouldn't even be possible. I'm Nameless, a cl...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Nameless Queen
Author:Rebecca McLaughlin
Rating:
Edition Language:English

Nameless Queen Reviews

  • Laura Steven

    Okay real talk. I first read this manuscript back in 2015, when I mentored Rebecca during PitchWars. AND I STILL THINK ABOUT THIS WORLD ALL THE TIME. Seriously, building a class system around names -- and lack thereof -- is such a fresh and original twist that I genuinely am in awe of the author. She's worked so fucking hard over the past few years to really make this book shine, and I truly cannot wait for it to be out in the world at last.

    Plus, the heroine. Coin. Oh, Coin, how I lo

    Okay real talk. I first read this manuscript back in 2015, when I mentored Rebecca during PitchWars. AND I STILL THINK ABOUT THIS WORLD ALL THE TIME. Seriously, building a class system around names -- and lack thereof -- is such a fresh and original twist that I genuinely am in awe of the author. She's worked so fucking hard over the past few years to really make this book shine, and I truly cannot wait for it to be out in the world at last.

    Plus, the heroine. Coin. Oh, Coin, how I love thee. What shone through for me right from page one is the incredible narrative voice. I love the snark, I love the sarcasm, I love the litotes (my favourite comedy device) when things go wrong. I love her relationships, her toughness but also her vulnerability. I love how gifted she is -- skills she's worked hard to hone after so many years on the streets -- and how smart she is when things start going wrong. She has so much agency. I love Coin, okay?

    And the opening line. My god, guys. I can still recite it four years later, that's how fucking iconic it is.

    'I wake up the same way I fell asleep: knife in hand, boots for a pillow, and Nameless.'

    If I ever write a first line that good I will immediately retire and just toast myself with mimosas all day long.

    Anyway! I cannot wait to see this book fly. It's a wonder <3

  • Katelynd Gillins

    Received an ARC for an honest review:

    I loved this book. I seriously loved it. The world building was great and had such a fascinating, sassy heroine. One of my favorite things about it was that it managed to be an awesome story without adding an unnecessary romance. It focused on the mystery and all the craziness that went along with it. While it read pretty well as a stand-alone, some of the problems and unknowns that arose from the resolution will sure make for an exciting sequel.

    Received an ARC for an honest review:

    I loved this book. I seriously loved it. The world building was great and had such a fascinating, sassy heroine. One of my favorite things about it was that it managed to be an awesome story without adding an unnecessary romance. It focused on the mystery and all the craziness that went along with it. While it read pretty well as a stand-alone, some of the problems and unknowns that arose from the resolution will sure make for an exciting sequel. I can’t wait for more of Coin’s world!

  • Namera [The Literary Invertebrate]

    Sigh. You have no idea how disappointed I am to have to say this, but here it is:

    The land of Seriden is divided into three categories of people: Royals, who are basically the nobility; Legals, who are middle-class workers; and the Nameless, homeless peasants. The next ruler of Seriden is chosen by the previous ruler, who says the name of their choice as they’re dying. A black crown ta

    Sigh. You have no idea how disappointed I am to have to say this, but here it is:

    The land of Seriden is divided into three categories of people: Royals, who are basically the nobility; Legals, who are middle-class workers; and the Nameless, homeless peasants. The next ruler of Seriden is chosen by the previous ruler, who says the name of their choice as they’re dying. A black crown tattoo appears on the arm of the person selected. This is supposed to stop the crown from being purely an inheritance thing, but it clearly isn’t working very well because rulers usually just pick their children to go next.

    When the king dies, a 17-year-old Nameless girl called

    wakes up to find that she has the crown tattoo. She reveals it to save her best friend

    from execution. From there, she’s forcibly taken into the palace and presumably has to deal with her new life as queen.

    I say presumably because I got up to 32% before calling it a day.

    She basically learns how to do everything INSTANTLY, which is

    . The tattoo gives her the power to see auras, read memories, and create illusions. Considering she’s NEVER made an illusion before, I found it incredible that she was able to pull off making complex phantasms approximately ten minutes after getting the actual tattoo. It’s referred to like it’s an innate skill, which it definitely isn’t. I’m reminded here of the heroine from Marie Lu’s The Young Elites, who can also create illusions – but Lu showed us how she actually had to work for it, and practise it, before it became a skill. Meanwhile Coin just instinctively manages to do these things.

    Despite never being able to read auras before,

    . She’s just like, ‘Oh. I can read auras now. So I can tell that that woman’s lying!’ How does she know that? Is it because the aura has changed colour, or changed size, or what? Again, the author shows Coin being able instinctively to do something she shouldn’t. Can you say Mary Sue? Don’t even get me started on how she, a peasant girl who’s spent her life on the streets, is able to pick up the finer niceties of upper-class social behaviour in about a week.

    She’s also such a gifted thief that she’s able to steal things from passing tables while her hands are cuffed and she’s surrounded by guards. Is this feat actually described? No, the author just tells us that Coin was able to do it. Alright then.

    This is just going overboard; we’re supposed to believe Coin can do everything, without learning how she actually does anything. It goes without saying

    So there are these three categories of people, the Royals, Legals, and Nameless. It’s said that people care so little about the activities of the Nameless that committing crimes isn’t even illegal for them. Yet at the same time, they’re executed for committing crimes. Paradox?

    . What kind of clothes do people wear? What do they look like? By 32%, these are things I would expect to know. Seriden felt like the thinnest of fantasy worlds, a fancy name to put on top of the real-life USA. Making up your own swear words doesn’t give me a sense of what the land is like.

    I struggled through this book for ages because I didn’t want to have to give up on it, but life is way too short.

    -

  • Mic

    I was lucky enough to read a draft of this as an intern. The characters and world-building are all incredible. Can't wait for the rest of the world to fall for Coin and her merry band of misfits.

  • ♠️ Tabi ♠️

    yikes this blurb screams James Patterson and if the concept of the story wasn't so darn intriguing (

    ) I'd avoid this

  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔

    6/25/19

    Well this went from 2018 to January 2020 release, but I guess at least now we a cover and release date.

    ---

    It's 2018 and I need more details on this book! Like a cover and a release date, please and thank you.

  • anna (readingpeaches)

    idk how u "unwittingly inherit a kingdom" but i'm into this concept

  • Emma Yoloswag

    Okay so I usually wait for more information before I add a book but... this sounds really cool

  • Fanna
  • Olivia Wildenstein

    Coin aka the NAMELESS QUEEN is a whipsmart heroine. She reminded me a lot of Daenerys in GOT, and her guard (who was hands down, my favorite character) reminded me of Ser Jorah.

    I almost wished there’d been some romance (I’m a love story junkie), but the book managed to hold my interest even though there wasn’t, which is a feat!

    Huge thank you to the author for the ARC.

Best Books Online is in no way intended to support illegal activity. Use it at your risk. We uses Search API to find books/manuals but doesn´t host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners. Please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them


©2019 Best Books Online - All rights reserved.