A River of Royal Blood

A River of Royal Blood

An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown. Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of marrow and blood--a dark and terrible magick that hasn't been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last k...

DownloadRead Online
Title:A River of Royal Blood
Author:Amanda Joy
Rating:
Edition Language:English

A River of Royal Blood Reviews

  • Rec-It Rachel

    HELL YEAH

  • Natasha Ngan

    A sibling rivalry like nothing you’ve ever read before. Joy weaves a dark yet delicate treatise on race, heritage and power whilst never losing that addictive ‘just one more chapter’ allure. I devoured it one sitting!

  • Laura Silverman

    EPICALLY GOOD.

    Y'all don't even know.

    But you want to know.

    So preorder the second you have a chance.

  • MariaWitBook

    I can only say that I loved the book! I was fortunate enough for a friend to get it even before I got my copy and because she finished it in one sitting she called me straight way asking if I want to read something really really good! I’m grateful that I said yes straight away! As reading this book give him hours of pure enjoyment! I will totally recommend it! Specially if you went through a reading slump and you are looking for a pick you up book look no further! Great book! Strong powerful cha

    I can only say that I loved the book! I was fortunate enough for a friend to get it even before I got my copy and because she finished it in one sitting she called me straight way asking if I want to read something really really good! I’m grateful that I said yes straight away! As reading this book give him hours of pure enjoyment! I will totally recommend it! Specially if you went through a reading slump and you are looking for a pick you up book look no further! Great book! Strong powerful characters and last but not least the way the author pulls you into this fantastic world of magic is just wonderful! Wondering if this could become a series! I would love to see the art on a second cover!

  • Kogiopsis

    Okay, so. I liked it, but... I needed it to be about twice as long.

    For once I don't mean this in the simple 'I wanted more' sort of way, though I did/do. I mean that this book would have been much stronger had it been given more room to grow, and had the plot not been cut where it was for cliffhanger purposes.

    See, here's the thing - this is a book fraught with emotionally complicated situations and revelations, and yet the action moves so quickly that those emotions never really get

    Okay, so. I liked it, but... I needed it to be about twice as long.

    For once I don't mean this in the simple 'I wanted more' sort of way, though I did/do. I mean that this book would have been much stronger had it been given more room to grow, and had the plot not been cut where it was for cliffhanger purposes.

    See, here's the thing - this is a book fraught with emotionally complicated situations and revelations, and yet the action moves so quickly that those emotions never really get explored. Take the most basic concept outlined in the blurb: two sisters who will have to fight each other to the death. We get a bit of insight into their relationship and how it has changed over the years, but while Evalina felt well-developed and her memories of Isadora as children hinted at Isa's depth, in the present day her sister came off flat, with simplistic motivations and little sense of agency, and that in turn made the conflict between them less interesting and engaging.

    Overall, I felt like the emotional aspect of this story ended up being told, not shown, as the plot barreled on at full speed ahead, and that's a real shame because it distracted from an otherwise excellent read. Give me at least another hundred pages for Joy to expand on character development and relationships between rapid-fire plot events and I would have absolutely adored it. Here's hoping the sequel gets more room to grow!

    (p.s. still utterly in love w/ the cover, even if Eva's tattoos are the wrong color.)

  • Danielle (Life of a Literary Nerd)

    I went into this expecting a dark sister fantasy story and I was half right. While

    is filled with whimsy and unique magic, it’s really Princess Eva’s story with her sister Isadore playing a small role. Born with a feared blood and marrow magic notStars

    I went into this expecting a dark sister fantasy story and I was half right. While

    is filled with whimsy and unique magic, it’s really Princess Eva’s story with her sister Isadore playing a small role. Born with a feared blood and marrow magic not seen since the vicious Queen Raina conquered Myre for humans generations ago, Eva must try and master these unknown powers if she wishes to fight for the throne, and only the strongest Rival Heir will survive.

    The

    hooked me from the very beginning. I loved the different types of magicks and the different histories for Myre, Dracol, and the Roune Lands. I especially loved getting stories from Bacchas - they felt like fairytales, which was so very enchanting. And I really loved learning about the different races in Myre. There was some great commentary about race and legacy in the story as well.

    I truly loved a lot of the

    . Princess Eva goes through quite a journey from shying away from her powers to embracing them. Bacchas was a scene stealer - so charming. Aketo has this commanding presence and I loved learning more about Khimaer magic from him. I expected to get more from Isa and Falun, but maybe in the next book?

    I loved the

    between everybody too. I was rooting for basically all the possible couples from the beginning. I honestly would have been okay with any combination for a romance.

    was used a few times in the story, and one time really bugged me near the end. You can’t be mad at somebody taking action with the information they have, then judge them based on the greater amount of information you have. It was just mildly frustrating.

    I feel like the

    unintentionally. I don’t want to say too much and give anything away, but it was very easy to tell what certain reveals were going to be based on information the story gave us - and I don’t mean foreshadowing or clues.

    The

    confused me bc it was all wrong. When I got descriptions of Eva’s white tattoos, I thought she was on the left. But when she described how she took after her father: darker skin and hair, so she was clearly on the right. I got confused before I realized that the cover art was just wrong. It didn’t take away anything from the story, obviously. And it’s a stunning cover, again obvious, just want to give you a heads up in case you tried to figure out which sister was which while reading.

    is a rich fantasy story with excellent worldbuilding I can’t wait to dive back into. The characters are complex and captivating and the magick is unique. If you’re looking for a fantasy story that will hook you from page 1, look no further.

  • ♠️ Tabi ♠️

    the magic in here is super special cause it's got a K

  • Elise (TheBookishActress)

    this will be a super dark, morally ambiguous, duel to the death, correct

  • Frank-Intergalactic Bookdragon

    Ah yes, and here we see publishers begin slapping "perfect for fans of

    " onto any African inspired YA fantasy.

    On a side note, I personally neither love nor hate the cover, it's okay. Looks like most YA fantasy nowadays.

  • Tucker

    loving this cover

Best Books Online is in no way intended to support illegal activity. Use it at your risk. We uses Search API to find books/manuals but doesn´t host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners. Please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them


©2019 Best Books Online - All rights reserved.