The Revolution of Birdie Randolph

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph

Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon comes a novel about first love and family secrets from Stonewall Book Award winner Brandy Colbert.Dove "Birdie" Randolph works hard to be the perfect daughter and follow the path her parents have laid out for her: She quit playing her beloved soccer, she keeps her nose buried in textbooks, and she's on track to finish high sc...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Revolution of Birdie Randolph
Author:Brandy Colbert
Rating:
Edition Language:English

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph Reviews

  • Katie B

    I finished this a few days ago and the more I think about this book, the more I appreciate all of the things the author managed to do with the story. At first it seems like a fairly simple story but in reality there's a lot going on here.

    Sixteen-year-old Dove "Birdie" Randolph has always tried to live up to her parents' expectations. She studies hard and gets good grades and follows the rules they have set in place for her. Well kinda. Even though her parents insist they meet any boy she wants

    I finished this a few days ago and the more I think about this book, the more I appreciate all of the things the author managed to do with the story. At first it seems like a fairly simple story but in reality there's a lot going on here.

    Sixteen-year-old Dove "Birdie" Randolph has always tried to live up to her parents' expectations. She studies hard and gets good grades and follows the rules they have set in place for her. Well kinda. Even though her parents insist they meet any boy she wants to date, Birdie so far has been keeping quiet about her new boyfriend, Booker. She knows her parents won't approve of his troubled past.

    Birdie's estranged aunt, Carlene, is staying with the family after just getting out of rehab. Even though there is some tension among Carlene and Birdie's parents, Birdie has been developing a close relationship with her aunt. Birdie wants to be in control of her life rather than her parents, and begins testing the waters and making choices she knows her parents won't approve of. But then a long held secret comes to light that is going to rock her world.

    I don't read YA fiction all that often when compared to other genres but I found the book cover for this so visually stunning, I knew I just had to make time for this one. And I'm so glad I did because it's a good reminder that stories about teenagers can be just as compelling and interesting as those about adults. This was a quick read and I wouldn't say the writing is overly descriptive, but it's well worth reading because it's a book with substance. I don't want to elaborate much further than that because I don't like giving spoilers in my reviews. Just trust me when I say the author did a good job exploring many issues that are relevant to not just teenagers but adults as well. And what I liked is there was a good combination of subjects explored in depth and some that were just briefly touched upon. It didn't feel like the author was trying to cram in so much stuff that it overwhelmed the story.

    There's a diverse cast of characters and even though Birdie is the star of the show, I thought her family and friends had depth and were intriguing characters as well. If the author ever wanted to do a spin off book featuring any of the teenage characters or Birdie's older sister, I would definitely be interested in reading it.

    Definitely recommend especially if you love YA fiction.

    I was sent an advance copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

  • Richelle Robinson

    This is my first time reading a full length novel by Brandy Colbert and I am truly impressed with her writing. I have read short stories in anthologies by this author which I enjoyed but this book was next level. We are introduced to Dove aka Birdie who is struggling with being the perfect daughter but also wants to enjoy being a teen. While reading I would think back on my teenage days. How you want to please your parents and do as they say but you also want to do things your own way and make m

    This is my first time reading a full length novel by Brandy Colbert and I am truly impressed with her writing. I have read short stories in anthologies by this author which I enjoyed but this book was next level. We are introduced to Dove aka Birdie who is struggling with being the perfect daughter but also wants to enjoy being a teen. While reading I would think back on my teenage days. How you want to please your parents and do as they say but you also want to do things your own way and make mistakes along the way. Throughout this story there are some twists and turns that I wasn’t expecting and it made my jaw drop. At the end of the day we all make mistakes and no one is perfect. This was a well written coming of age story about discovering yourself, carving your own path, redemption and forgiveness. I loved the diversity of the characters as well. I wish I had books like these when I was growing up. I will be making it my business to read Colbert’s backlog and see what I have been missing all these years!

    I received a review copy from publisher via Vine.

  • Dahlia

    Brandy Colbert stays very, very, very good at what she does.

  • Elise (TheBookishActress)

    Im going to keep reading Brandy Colbert, especially when they have

    , and someday, she’s going to write something I love even more than I love Pointe

  • Kelly

    I don't think Brandy Colbert needs a comparison to stand out, as she's proven herself a voice in YA. But the ARC compares her to Nicola Yoon and Nina LaCour and I'd absolutely agree: this is a quieter book (a la Nina LaCour) that takes on family and relationships in realistic teen ways (both LaCour and Yoon!). The romance in this one definitely has the Yoon effect to it.

    This is a book about following the rules and breaking them, but even more than that, it's a book about the family we're born i

    I don't think Brandy Colbert needs a comparison to stand out, as she's proven herself a voice in YA. But the ARC compares her to Nicola Yoon and Nina LaCour and I'd absolutely agree: this is a quieter book (a la Nina LaCour) that takes on family and relationships in realistic teen ways (both LaCour and Yoon!). The romance in this one definitely has the Yoon effect to it.

    This is a book about following the rules and breaking them, but even more than that, it's a book about the family we're born into and the families that we make along the way. Birdie's aunt shows up at their apartment right before the summer begins, and that's when everything changes; it's at this same time Birdie is secretly dating a boy she knows her very strict, proper parents wouldn't like. Despite never pushing boundaries before, these two new people in her life encourage her to take some chances and learn some lessons she never would have on her own.

    Colbert depicts Carlene's alcoholism with tenderness and offers up the whole range of emotions people experience both as those who are addicts and those who are friends and family of addicts. There is support, but there is also caution exercised around Carlene that showcase hope for her to find recovery but also experience in knowing that this is a disease that is challenging to manage.

    The Chicago setting is, no surprise, spot on. I started reading this in a hotel just a block from the Civic Opera House, which plays a tiny role in the story. Other Chicagonalia include Portillo's, Montrose Beach, the L (including above and below ground talk), the way Chicagoans live for those four perfect days a year, and more. It's vibrant and real, and isn't also afraid to highlight the racial challenges within the city, in terms of violence, racism, and bigotry, and the places and spaces where those do and don't overlap.

    Also handled really fabulously is anger and anger management, recovery from trauma and what that does and doesn't look like, and it offers such a refreshing perspective on teens, especially teens of color, who've been in the juvenile justice system.

    Birdie's best friend is half black and half Latinx, while her ex-boyfriend

    .

    I'm never sad when I read a Brandy Colbert book, except when I am finished and know I'll be waiting another year for her next.

Best Books Online is in no way intended to support illegal activity. Use it at your risk. We uses Search API to find books/manuals but doesn´t host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners. Please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them


©2019 Best Books Online - All rights reserved.