The Strangers

The Strangers

Told in alternating points of view from Chess, Emma, and Finn Greystone, Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers is the beginning of a new page-turning adventure that examines assumptions about identity, family, and home, from the master of middle grade suspense.What makes you you?The Greystone kids thought they knew. Chess has always been the protector over his younger siblin...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Strangers
Author:Margaret Peterson Haddix
Rating:
Edition Language:English

The Strangers Reviews

  • Violet Sinclair

    DISCLAIMER: I received a digital review copy of THE STRANGERS via Edelweiss Above the Treeline in exchange for an honest review

    Let me just start by saying...WHAT THE HECK WAS THAT

    I shouldn’t expect anything other than amazing plot twists from Margaret Peterson Haddix, but wow. This one was really just...wow.

    A LITTLE SUMMARY:

    This story is basically about three kids - Chess, Emma, and Finn Greystone - who come home from school one day, and overhear a news broadcast talking about three kids from Ar

    DISCLAIMER: I received a digital review copy of THE STRANGERS via Edelweiss Above the Treeline in exchange for an honest review

    Let me just start by saying...WHAT THE HECK WAS THAT

    I shouldn’t expect anything other than amazing plot twists from Margaret Peterson Haddix, but wow. This one was really just...wow.

    A LITTLE SUMMARY:

    This story is basically about three kids - Chess, Emma, and Finn Greystone - who come home from school one day, and overhear a news broadcast talking about three kids from Arizona who were kidnapped with their exact same names, which definitely creeps these kids out. The day after that happens, their mom announces that she’s going on an unexpected business trip and doesn’t know when she’ll come back. The Greystone kids then go to live with a woman who used to be friends with their mom, and who has a daughter of her own, Natalie. From there, they start to notice a bunch of screwy things going on and decide to investigate, sending the four kids on this crazy mission.

    Okay, I can’t say too much without giving away spoilers and believe me, you do not want to get spoilers for this book, but think Nickelodeon’s mystery series HUNTER STREET meets Netflix’s STRANGER THINGS.

    But yeah, all in all, definitely one of my favorite Haddix books, and definitely purchasing when it gets released.

  • Susan

    Thanks to the publisher and Edelweiss for this DRC! I can say, without a doubt, that this new series will be an incredible hit! Filled with suspense and twists you don't always see coming, I couldn't put this one down. I loved how it is written in the three different voices of the children. This allows the reader a deeper understanding of the family relationships as well as each character's strengths and flaws. I don't want to write much about the plot for fear of ruining the suspense. Suffice i

    Thanks to the publisher and Edelweiss for this DRC! I can say, without a doubt, that this new series will be an incredible hit! Filled with suspense and twists you don't always see coming, I couldn't put this one down. I loved how it is written in the three different voices of the children. This allows the reader a deeper understanding of the family relationships as well as each character's strengths and flaws. I don't want to write much about the plot for fear of ruining the suspense. Suffice it to say that middle grade readers will eat this up! I am anxiously awaiting the next installment of this series!

    Margaret Petereson Haddix has done it again!

  • Sam (she_who_reads_)

    This was such a fun, enthralling read! Once I started, it was a true struggle to put it down- there was so much happening and I NEEDED to know how things were going to work out for these kids and their mum. The pacing was perfect- the plot moved at a rapid pace, whilst still allowing time for the reader to understand exactly what was happening (there is a science-fiction element that I think was explained well for younger readers). I loved the puzzles and clues the kids had to work out, and the

    This was such a fun, enthralling read! Once I started, it was a true struggle to put it down- there was so much happening and I NEEDED to know how things were going to work out for these kids and their mum. The pacing was perfect- the plot moved at a rapid pace, whilst still allowing time for the reader to understand exactly what was happening (there is a science-fiction element that I think was explained well for younger readers). I loved the puzzles and clues the kids had to work out, and the kids themselves were amazingly well developed. I CANNOT wait for the next book. Highly recommend for middle grade readers!!

  • Jenni Frencham

    Haddix, Margaret Peterson. The Strangers. Katherine Tegen Books, 2019.

    Chess, Emma, and Finn come home from school to find their mother staring at her laptop, where there is a news recording of three children in Arizona who have been kidnapped. Three children who have the exact same first and middle names as they do and who share their birthdays. The next day their mother has to leave town for work, and the trio stumble into a mystery that has them looking for clues, breaking secret codes, and tr

    Haddix, Margaret Peterson. The Strangers. Katherine Tegen Books, 2019.

    Chess, Emma, and Finn come home from school to find their mother staring at her laptop, where there is a news recording of three children in Arizona who have been kidnapped. Three children who have the exact same first and middle names as they do and who share their birthdays. The next day their mother has to leave town for work, and the trio stumble into a mystery that has them looking for clues, breaking secret codes, and traveling to other worlds.

    I remember reading and loving Haddix's Hidden Children series as well as her book Running Out of Time. I was very excited, then, to receive a digital ARC of this book to review. Similar to Haddix's other books, this book is filled with lots of action and adventure to help keep kids reading and turning the pages. Unlike many of her other works, though, this one has a rather slow build. There is a lot of explanation and a lot of description of the kids sitting around trying to figure things out. If you have read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, you'll remember the 100+ pages when Harry and Hermione (and sometimes Ron) are camping - they move from place to place and keep trying to figure things out, but there isn't much action in that section of the book. It's the same in this book for the first 75% or so.

    It's a very slow build up, which makes it quite different from many other of Haddix's shorter, compelling stories. Because of this, I wouldn't give this book to a reluctant or struggling reader, but I would give it to a child who enjoyed A Wrinkle in Time, and I would give it to a child who had read all of Haddix's other works and was looking for a new book to read. The story is interesting, but not compelling. It's a solid clean read, though, so keep it on your shelves for patrons who want books without violence or language.

    Recommended for: middle grade

    Red Flags: mild peril

    Overall Rating: 4/5 stars

    Read-Alikes: Book Scavenger, What We Found In the Sofa and How It Saved the World, A Wrinkle in Time

    I received a complimentary copy of this book through Edelweiss for the purpose of review.

  • Jessie_Book

    My recommendation to anyone who wants to read this book is to go in almost completely blind. This book is like a puzzle. Trying to put the pieces together as you read this book is half the fun. I'll confess that my theory didn’t pan out but I did still enjoy it!

    If you have read any other Haddix book you are going to enjoy this one. This book has mystery and intrigue in abundance. So much so that I had a hard time putting it down even when it too late in the night and later too early in the morni

    My recommendation to anyone who wants to read this book is to go in almost completely blind. This book is like a puzzle. Trying to put the pieces together as you read this book is half the fun. I'll confess that my theory didn’t pan out but I did still enjoy it!

    If you have read any other Haddix book you are going to enjoy this one. This book has mystery and intrigue in abundance. So much so that I had a hard time putting it down even when it too late in the night and later too early in the morning. Though I lost some interest in the book after the puzzle was solved.

  • Denise

    I want to start this by saying, I dont normally read middle grade books, but the plot of this sounded interesting and It was available to me immediately at the library to reserve before it was published. I did not at all expect to be so drawn in my the story. Its close to see how resemblances to A Wrinkle In Time have been made, and I would go a step further to say that it also has a big Stranger Things vibe going on too. Part of it is magical realism, though it's definitely rooted more in reali

    I want to start this by saying, I dont normally read middle grade books, but the plot of this sounded interesting and It was available to me immediately at the library to reserve before it was published. I did not at all expect to be so drawn in my the story. Its close to see how resemblances to A Wrinkle In Time have been made, and I would go a step further to say that it also has a big Stranger Things vibe going on too. Part of it is magical realism, though it's definitely rooted more in reality and technology than the two aforementioned examples.

    Three siblings go missing, and three other siblings with the same names, birthdays, and other similar characteristics suddenly have to deal with changes in their world that seem beyond comprehension. Their mother leaves for an unexpected trip, they are left with a woman who they have never met before, and her daughter that seems to know more about what's going on than they do...but as you get through the book you quickly find out that none of them could have thought of what was truly going on in their wildest dreams.

    From genius riddles and puzzles that need to be solved, code words like succotash, and a cliffhanger ending that will leave you wanting more...this book offers up great adventures for kids and keeps their imagination on their toes from page to page. A highly original story, and jam packed with mystery and intrigue.

  • Tiffany Miss.Fiction

    I received a digital review copy of THE STRANGERS via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review

    We follow the story of the siblings Chess, Emma and Finn. One day, after coming home from school, they discover from TV that some children with their exact same names and birthdate were kidnapped in Arizona. The day after, their mom leaves for a business trip and leave them with the stranger Mrs. Morales and her daughter Natalie but soon, they will find out that their mom is not coming back and a huge

    I received a digital review copy of THE STRANGERS via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review

    We follow the story of the siblings Chess, Emma and Finn. One day, after coming home from school, they discover from TV that some children with their exact same names and birthdate were kidnapped in Arizona. The day after, their mom leaves for a business trip and leave them with the stranger Mrs. Morales and her daughter Natalie but soon, they will find out that their mom is not coming back and a huge mystery floats around them, those kidnapped kids and their mom's past.

    3.5 Stars.

    I really liked the first part, it was a full 4.5 stars but at 70% of the book i quiet lost interest and the story felt a lot less believable (even thou the sci-fi elements are not bad at all) but still, i enjoyed myself very much and couldn't wait to find out what was happening.

    I really liked how the three point of views from each child is developed and explains a little bit more, not only about the story and the plot that progress, but even what they are feeling, what they are thinking individually and how each of them is different and at a different age stage.

    I think this is seriously an excellent middle grade and i can't wait to read more about the Greystone kids!

  • Beth Bryden-miller

    the premise is intriguing but takes a while to get there. The ages of the kids makes it awkward for middle school. Would recommend as a purchase for higher elementary.

  • Books on Stereo

    A fun, alternate universe story.

  • Giselle Bradley

    DNF'd 7% in.

Best Books Online is in no way intended to support illegal activity. Use it at your risk. We uses Search API to find books/manuals but doesn´t host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners. Please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them


©2019 Best Books Online - All rights reserved.