Swimming for Sunlight

Swimming for Sunlight

When recently divorced Katie Ellis and her rescue dog Bark move back in with Katie’s grandmother in Florida, she becomes swept up in a reunion of her grandmother’s troupe of underwater performers—finding hope and renewal in unexpected places, in this sweet novel perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Claire Cook.Aspiring costume designer Katie gave up everything in her di...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Swimming for Sunlight
Author:Allie Larkin
Rating:
Edition Language:English

Swimming for Sunlight Reviews

  • Kendall

    What first got my attention to this book was of course the cover! That sweet little pup on the cover stole my interest :).

    I cannot say enough good things about this sweet sweet novel! This was the perfect book to come into my life right now!

    If you're thinking this is going to be a romance novel.. you're completely wrong. Allie Larkin explores love, friendship, overcoming your fears, anxiety, and happiness in this beautiful novel.

    Between the fury rescue pup Bark, the mermaid team of hip grandmas

    What first got my attention to this book was of course the cover! That sweet little pup on the cover stole my interest :).

    I cannot say enough good things about this sweet sweet novel! This was the perfect book to come into my life right now!

    If you're thinking this is going to be a romance novel.. you're completely wrong. Allie Larkin explores love, friendship, overcoming your fears, anxiety, and happiness in this beautiful novel.

    Between the fury rescue pup Bark, the mermaid team of hip grandmas, to the loving, complex, and resilient set of characters this is one book that you want to get your hands on! You will not be disappointed! I highly recommend.

    4.5 mermaid sun stars!

    Thank you to Atria and Netgalley for the arc in exchange for an honest review.

    Publication date: 4/23/19

    Published to GR: 12/23/18

  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader

    ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

    Katie is an aspiring costume designer, and I knew she was my kind of gal when I read she gave up everything in her divorce settlement- everything- in order to keep her rescue dog. At a loss on what her next steps should be, Katie moves home to Florida to live with her grandmother. Her former underwater performer grandmother.

    Nan was a mermaid performer in a roadside show, and she had a group of close friends who

    ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

    Katie is an aspiring costume designer, and I knew she was my kind of gal when I read she gave up everything in her divorce settlement- everything- in order to keep her rescue dog. At a loss on what her next steps should be, Katie moves home to Florida to live with her grandmother. Her former underwater performer grandmother.

    Nan was a mermaid performer in a roadside show, and she had a group of close friends who performed with her. Unfortunately, the women lost touch over the years, but Katie helps Nan find her friends via social media in hopes of reuniting them for one more show. Of course, if this happens, Katie will make the costumes!

    Katie’s college boyfriend, Luca, re-enters the scene. Now a documentary filmmaker, Katie is feeling sparks between them. Katie has a real battle between all of her dreams and her anxiety holding her back from obtaining them. She makes a connection between her own fear and the anxiety her dog experiences. This aspect was SO sensitive and well-done, it melts my heart just thinking about it again.

    Swimming for Sunlight is a charming and moving story. If you are a lover of dogs or any animal, you can’t miss it, and even if you aren’t, this is a beautiful story that is sure to capture your heart like it did mine. Will Katie and Bark find their happily ever after?

    I received a complimentary copy. All opinions are my own.

    My reviews can also be found on my blog:

  • Selena

    I received a free advanced e-copy of Swimming for Sunlight by Allie Larkin from NetGalley for my honest review.

    Oh my, where to start. Such a beautiful, moving, emotional and memorable book. Katie and her dog, Bark go to Florida after her divorce. Katie, is young, depressed and is struggling with anxiety and fears as well. She is also still mourning the loss of her father. She ends up moving in with her Grandmother (Nan).

    Katie learns that Nan was a mermaid performer back in the day. Katie decide

    I received a free advanced e-copy of Swimming for Sunlight by Allie Larkin from NetGalley for my honest review.

    Oh my, where to start. Such a beautiful, moving, emotional and memorable book. Katie and her dog, Bark go to Florida after her divorce. Katie, is young, depressed and is struggling with anxiety and fears as well. She is also still mourning the loss of her father. She ends up moving in with her Grandmother (Nan).

    Katie learns that Nan was a mermaid performer back in the day. Katie decides to help Nan reunite with her Mermaid friends from the past. They contact all the Mermaids, wanting to do a reunion show. While all this is happening she also learns that her Ex husband is in another relationship and is happy but she is heart broken. Katie starts to find her own peach and healing process when she decides to make costumes for Nana and all her friends for the reunion show.

    A beautiful and enchanting book filled with love, compassion, sorrow, happiness and above all friendship and healing. You will laugh with these characters, cry with these characters and fall in love with them as well.

  • Esil

    3.5 stars

    Decent, light, feel sad then feel good type of read. This worked well as a quick vacation read. Katie is in her late 20s and just divorced, when she moves back in with her grandmother with her dog Bark in tow. Katie has a lot of baggage stemming from her father's death and her mother's subsequent abandonment. Katie's grandmother and her group of friends were her anchor as a child and serve the same purpose after Katie's divorce. The story is a quite predictable and Katie is a bit melodr

    3.5 stars

    Decent, light, feel sad then feel good type of read. This worked well as a quick vacation read. Katie is in her late 20s and just divorced, when she moves back in with her grandmother with her dog Bark in tow. Katie has a lot of baggage stemming from her father's death and her mother's subsequent abandonment. Katie's grandmother and her group of friends were her anchor as a child and serve the same purpose after Katie's divorce. The story is a quite predictable and Katie is a bit melodramatic for my tastes, but the grandmother and her friends we lovely -- they really carried the book for me. These are not sweet older women -- no, they are hip and savvy. A decent light novel if that's what you're craving. Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for an opportunity to read an advance copy.

  • Mackey

    Swimming for Sunlight is an uplifting story full of love, friendship, growth and multi-generational comradery that will fill your heart with joy from beginning to end.

    Katie Ellis suffered a double loss as a child; her father died of a heart attack as they were playing in the water and her mother abandoned her shortly thereafter. As a result, despite an abundance of love from her grandmother, Nan, and the caring of all of Nan’s friends, Katie suffers from debilitating anxiety disorder which now h

    Swimming for Sunlight is an uplifting story full of love, friendship, growth and multi-generational comradery that will fill your heart with joy from beginning to end.

    Katie Ellis suffered a double loss as a child; her father died of a heart attack as they were playing in the water and her mother abandoned her shortly thereafter. As a result, despite an abundance of love from her grandmother, Nan, and the caring of all of Nan’s friends, Katie suffers from debilitating anxiety disorder which now has cost Katie her marriage. The one thing she has fought for and won in the divorce settlement is her faithful-fearful dog, Bark. Now Katie is moving back in with Nan to be surrounded once more by a wonderful community of friends.

    As someone who suffers from extreme social anxiety, I related to Katie and her faithful pooch very much. As she plunges herself into helping her Nan reconnect with Nan’s friends from the past, Katie slowly begins to heal and we, as readers, are able to see her growth – after a harrowing fall to the very bottom of an emotional fallout. It is through the help of the community, her own childhood friends and the love of her dear pet that we watch Katie learn to deal with her anxiety – and that of Bark’s as well.

    There are a number of characters in Swimming for Sunlight in addition to the primary ones of Katie and her Nan and each play an integral part in the story. Larkin does a beautiful job of developing them to their fullest, slowly revealing their true nature so that we see their strengths and weaknesses as well, just as we would our own friends and neighbors. She then weaves their storylines in with Katie’s brilliantly. I loved Swimming for Sunlight. It came into my life at exactly the right time when I needed it most and filled it with warmth and happiness. I hope it will do the same for many other readers.

    Many thanks to #Netgalley, #AllieLarkin and @AtriaBooks for my copy of #SwimmingForSunlight available today!

Best Books Online is in no way intended to support illegal activity. Use it at your risk. We uses Search API to find books/manuals but doesn´t host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners. Please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them


©2019 Best Books Online - All rights reserved.