This Train Is Being Held

This Train Is Being Held

When private school student Isabelle Warren first meets Dominican-American Alex Rosario on the downtown 1 train, she remembers his green eyes and his gentlemanly behavior. He remembers her untroubled happiness, something he feels all rich kids must possess. That, and her long dancer legs. Over the course of multiple subway encounters spanning the next three years, Isabelle...

DownloadRead Online
Title:This Train Is Being Held
Author:Ismée Amiel Williams
Rating:
Edition Language:English

This Train Is Being Held Reviews

  • Lisa Nagel

    Really really enjoyed this, and it is so much more than just a book about a girl and a boy who fall in love on the New York City subway. It also convincingly illustrates how it feels to be judged by the way you look, or where you live. Isa and Alex seem to come from two different worlds, but they are both struggling to find their way doing what is expected of them. I found this to be not only a wonderful romance but a powerful book that explores prejudice and how we get caught up in one another’

    Really really enjoyed this, and it is so much more than just a book about a girl and a boy who fall in love on the New York City subway. It also convincingly illustrates how it feels to be judged by the way you look, or where you live. Isa and Alex seem to come from two different worlds, but they are both struggling to find their way doing what is expected of them. I found this to be not only a wonderful romance but a powerful book that explores prejudice and how we get caught up in one another’s assumptions and expectations. It also illustrates how mental illness can affect a family, and how important it is to stand up for those we love. A powerful book with a “I couldn’t put it down” pace....and also a just a great love story.

  • Jenny Bravo

    This story hit close to home and hurt my heart.

    Being a latina and living in the south makes you feel some type of way.

    Isa and Alex's story is one that isn't hard to believe. It's a love story in the same vein as West Side Story and I couldnt help but connect the two and fall in love all over again. This felt like a modern retelling of West Side Story, with the roles flipped. Alex was by far my favorite character, he had so much depth to his personality and I enjoyed his perspective. Both

    This story hit close to home and hurt my heart.

    Being a latina and living in the south makes you feel some type of way.

    Isa and Alex's story is one that isn't hard to believe. It's a love story in the same vein as West Side Story and I couldnt help but connect the two and fall in love all over again. This felt like a modern retelling of West Side Story, with the roles flipped. Alex was by far my favorite character, he had so much depth to his personality and I enjoyed his perspective. Both the harshness of his reality and the love he has for Isa.

    Other than being a love story, the underlying themes of racism and mental health were present throughout the entirety of the book. Sometimes taking the lead in the plot and helping move the story forward. Well done, eye opening *I hope* and beautiful.

  • Tucker

    Gosh, you guys… there was just so much to love about this book!! Even though the romance was probably a 3.5 stars on its own, the book as a whole gets a 4 star rating because of the friendship and, best of all, latinx heritage and culture.

    When private school student Isabelle Warren first meets Dominican-American Alex Rosario on the downtown 1 train, shereview

    Gosh, you guys… there was just so much to love about this book!! Even though the romance was probably a 3.5 stars on its own, the book as a whole gets a 4 star rating because of the friendship and, best of all, latinx heritage and culture.

    When private school student Isabelle Warren first meets Dominican-American Alex Rosario on the downtown 1 train, she remembers his green eyes and his gentlemanly behavior. He remembers her untroubled happiness, something he feels all rich kids must possess. That, and her long dancer legs. Over the course of multiple subway encounters spanning the next three years, Isabelle learns of Alex’s struggle with his father, who is hell-bent on Alex being a contender for the major leagues, despite Alex’s desire to go to college and become a poet. Alex learns about Isabelle’s unstable mother, a woman with a prejudice against Latino men. But fate—and the 1 train—throw them together when Isabelle needs Alex most. Heartfelt and evocative, this romantic drama will appeal to readers of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen.

    As you could tell by the phrase

    , this is not a very insta-lovey novel. That said, it was anything but slow and even though three years sounds like a long, long time, it’s not. Trust me; this book will fly by. So much so that I didn’t even realize it was three years because it was so enjoyable and perfectly paced. And also because I wasn’t paying attention to the dates.

    - Isa is the definition of a privileged white girl.

    Fortunately, she is pretty aware and grateful of her privilege and is almost never snooty or entitled about it. Isa is a young adult who loves to dance and hang out with her friend, Chrisy. I don’t really have anything else to say about Isa soooo… GIF:

    - I much prefer Alex to Isa. Mainly because:

    (P.S. don’t google “gay as f*ck gifs” unless you want to be treated to porn. Learned that the hard way.)

    But I also loved him because he was Latino! I love me some Latino rep because, believe it or not, I am Latino. Half lation. So, I guess I’m biracial. Anyway. I also want to note that Alex’s hand were surprisingly sexy. Don’t believe me? HERE’S A QUOTE TO JUSTIFY MY ARGUMENT:

    If that’s not foreplay, I don’t know what is.

    - Merrit is Isa’s brother and I was definitely crushing on him. I would totally be into him if he existed in real life. I also appreciated the mental illness rep (more on that in a bit.)

    I want to briefly focus on the Latino rep. Both Isa (I think) and Alex have latino heritage but it is Alex’s Dominican American family that the novel focuses on. It was super cool to see them speaking occasional Spanish, even though I couldn’t understand it. I don’t speak a lick of Spanish.

    I also loved the general culture and feel of Alex’s home because it reminded me of the (sometimes awkward) family lunches we have on my dad’s side. Oh, another thing. Alex called his dad “Papi” which is something I actually do but when talking about him to really anyone, I just say my dad because it’s easier than explaining “Papi”. Also, I’m lazy.

    To end, I want to discuss the mental illness representation which was just as important and meaningful as the Latino rep. Both Merrit and his mother struggle with bipolar disorder and Merrit deals with depression and, towards the end of the book,

    . I really appreciated this raw, accurate and emotional display of what it is like to deal with mental illness and to know someone who deals with it.

    Overall, this book was romantic, sure, but it went so much deeper than that. From Latino culture and heritage to bipolar disorder,

    covers many important topics in a raw, honest, and emotional way that will have every reader switching back and forth from laughter to tears.

    Bottom Line:

    4.5 Stars

    Age Rating: [ PG-13 ]

    Content Screening (Spoilers) - Educational Value (4/5) - [Latino culture and heritage, theatre, bipolar disorder and how to deal/cope with it] ~ Positive Messages (4/5) - [Endurance and strength, friendships, being your own person] ~ Violence (3/5) - [In the climax, a character is threatened with a knife and multiple people fall onto train tracks. Many characters are injured but no one dies.] ~ Sex (3/5) - [Kissing, removal of clothing but no on page sex.] ~ Language (1/5) - [Brief and mild language] ~ Drinking/Drugs (4/5) - [Character purposely overdoses on medications]

    - Overdosing on drugs, Suicide Attempt, Suicidal Ideations, Depression, Bipolar disorder, Racism (always in a negative light), Violence, Loss & Harm to a loved one

    Cover: 4/5 ~ Characters: 4/5 ~ Plot: 4/5

    Publication Date: February 11th, 2020

    Publisher: Amulet (Abrams)

    Genre: Romance/Contemporary

    ------

    Super cute and fun but with a perfect amount of heavy and important topics as well. Review to come!

    ------

    latino rep!!!

    |

    |

    |

    |

    |

    |

    ["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>

  • Marochka

    7/10

  • Nancy

    Great YA book! Handles discrimination, mental health issues, gangs, and dis-functional families, all wrapped up in the sweet package of a love story!

  • Amanda

    What a wonderful book! The characters are what makes This Train is Being Held so special. I'm so sad that the book has ended and I have to say goodbye to them.

  • Sana

    This sounds absolutely heartbreaking re: I wanna read it

  • rachael ♡

    This cover and this synopsis are both so good !!!

  • Jenn Adams

    Received an eARC from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review

    I like this selection a lot! Reading the description initially, I thought for sure it was gonna be insta-love or at least a relatively fluffy book. In reality, we got fleshed out, realistically flawed characters who develop a real connection. Are some parts a little far fetched? Sure, but not to the extent that they take away from the overall story. The author addresses some very real issues (race; mental health; honest

    Received an eARC from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review

    I like this selection a lot! Reading the description initially, I thought for sure it was gonna be insta-love or at least a relatively fluffy book. In reality, we got fleshed out, realistically flawed characters who develop a real connection. Are some parts a little far fetched? Sure, but not to the extent that they take away from the overall story. The author addresses some very real issues (race; mental health; honesty in relationships) in ways that seemed more nuanced than many YA novels.

    The cover is also very aesthetically pleasing so that helps too!

Best Books Online is in no way intended to support illegal activity. Use it at your risk. We uses Search API to find books/manuals but doesn´t host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners. Please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them


©2019 Best Books Online - All rights reserved.