The Seekers

The Seekers

A small band of brave adventurers journey to save their village in this stunning debut picture book from papercut artists Hari & Deepti. Perfect for fans of Aaron Becker's Journey.Mio and Nao live in the valley of Krum, above a great river that provides everything they need to survive. As children, their grandfather told tales of the Silver Fox and Fire Wolf, tales eve...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Seekers
Author:Hari Panicker
Rating:
Edition Language:English

The Seekers Reviews

  • Dan Browne

    One of the best illustrated kids books I have ever seen!

  • Emmy Neal

    UNBELIEVABLY exquisite art, and it has a wonderful story--I wish we had another page or two for the reader to make the necessary mythology connections before we get to the climax.

  • Abigail

    Mio and Nao lived in a tree-top village in the valley of Krum, gathering the crown-shell snails deposited by the river that bathed the roots of their arboreal home every night, before receding during the day. Although different as they could be - Mio was a storyteller, and believed in the ancestral tales about the Silver Fox and Fire Wolf who kept the world in balance, while Nao was more practical, and longed for adventure in the everyday world - they were good friends. When the river which prov

    Mio and Nao lived in a tree-top village in the valley of Krum, gathering the crown-shell snails deposited by the river that bathed the roots of their arboreal home every night, before receding during the day. Although different as they could be - Mio was a storyteller, and believed in the ancestral tales about the Silver Fox and Fire Wolf who kept the world in balance, while Nao was more practical, and longed for adventure in the everyday world - they were good friends. When the river which provided their sustenance began to dry up, the pair led a group of villagers on a quest to find its source, and the cause of the problem. Could it have anything to do with the beautiful jewel Nao had found? And what did it have to do with the Silver Fox and the Fire Wolf...?

    A lovely original fairy-tale and ecological fable is paired with breathtakingly beautiful artwork in

    , the debut picture-book from Indian artists Hari Panicker and Deepti Nair. Created, according to Panicker and Nair's brief afterword, over the course of two years, the illustrations here utilize thirty handmade dioramas and over six hundred layers of cut paper. The intricate cut-paper boxes the author/artists created were then backlit and photographed for the book. I enjoyed the story here, and appreciated its message of ecological balance, but the real stand-out is the artwork! I'm a bag fan of

    gorgeous cut-paper illustration style, and Panicker and Nair have taken that to the next level. Recommended to anyone who appreciates gorgeous picture-book art, and to anyone seeking ecological fables for children.

  • Ireadkidsbooks

    Read an F&G and reaaaaaalllllly want to see the final of this one as I suspect the galley couldn't do justice to their paper-cut artwork. Interesting story, but the illustrations are what will make this one shine -- they're quite striking.

  • Melissa

    Beautiful illustrations.

  • Donalyn

    Stunning paper cut art.

  • Amanda Piccirillo

    Beautiful artwork and storyline.

Best Books Online is in no way intended to support illegal activity. Use it at your risk. We uses Search API to find books/manuals but doesn´t host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners. Please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them


©2019 Best Books Online - All rights reserved.