A Bend in the Stars

A Bend in the Stars

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes a riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart-pounding journey across WWI-era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve one of the greatest mysteries of the universe.In Russia, in the summer of 1914, as war with Ge...

DownloadRead Online
Title:A Bend in the Stars
Author:Rachel Barenbaum
Rating:

A Bend in the Stars Reviews

  • Adam

    I was fortunate to have the chance to read an ARC of "A Bend in the Stars" and as soon as I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. The story is set in early 20th century Russia and is so well-researched, the reader practically feels like you are there in Kiev. The beautifully vivid writing draws the reader in - you can almost smell the strawberry jam as Babushka scoops it into her tea. Then there is the race for scientific discovery, with the alluring character of Einstein lurking ever in t

    I was fortunate to have the chance to read an ARC of "A Bend in the Stars" and as soon as I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. The story is set in early 20th century Russia and is so well-researched, the reader practically feels like you are there in Kiev. The beautifully vivid writing draws the reader in - you can almost smell the strawberry jam as Babushka scoops it into her tea. Then there is the race for scientific discovery, with the alluring character of Einstein lurking ever in the background. And the unfolding love story that twists and turns. A Bend in the Stars has it all -- five stars!

  • Susan

    I read this beautifully-crafted, intelligent novel in one weekend, consumed by Miri’s courage, Vanya’s ambition, the twists of loyalty and sacrifice, the sting of betrayal, the wrenching pain of star-crossed love. In thrilling detail, Barenbaum takes readers on a journey that is both quest and cat-and-mouse game, crisscrossing 1914 Russia by foot and rail with danger at every turn, as Vanya races to the center line of a total eclipse in search of scientific proof among the stars of gravity’s eff

    I read this beautifully-crafted, intelligent novel in one weekend, consumed by Miri’s courage, Vanya’s ambition, the twists of loyalty and sacrifice, the sting of betrayal, the wrenching pain of star-crossed love. In thrilling detail, Barenbaum takes readers on a journey that is both quest and cat-and-mouse game, crisscrossing 1914 Russia by foot and rail with danger at every turn, as Vanya races to the center line of a total eclipse in search of scientific proof among the stars of gravity’s effect on light and Miri pursues her dream of being a surgeon while struggling to reunite her family. A Bend In The Stars is smart, moving historical fiction. Thanks to NetGalley for advanced access in exchange for an honest review.

  • Karen Dukess

    I was completely swept away by this novel, transported into pre-World War I Russia and the struggles and hopes of the charismatic siblings, Miri and Vanya Abramov, as they attempted to make scientific history and escape the anti-semitism and violence of pre-revolutionary Russia. With impressive but never heavy-handed research, Barenbaum builds a world of intellectualism, scientific discovery, feminism, beauty, romance, violence and hatred and illuminates the complexities of Russian-Jewish life b

    I was completely swept away by this novel, transported into pre-World War I Russia and the struggles and hopes of the charismatic siblings, Miri and Vanya Abramov, as they attempted to make scientific history and escape the anti-semitism and violence of pre-revolutionary Russia. With impressive but never heavy-handed research, Barenbaum builds a world of intellectualism, scientific discovery, feminism, beauty, romance, violence and hatred and illuminates the complexities of Russian-Jewish life beyond Fiddler on the Roof stereotypes of shtetl life. Even more impressive than her depiction of the drama of impending war is the suspense she brings to the pursuit of physics as Vanya Abramov races to perfect Einstein's initial theories of relativity by completing the mathematical equations and confirming them through photographs of the solar eclipse that was visible in Russia in 1914.

  • Sarah

    A Bend in the Stars is easily my favorite book that I’ve read this year – hence the 5 star rating I’m giving it! It will be hard for any other books to be more thoroughly loved in 2019. If you read and loved For All The Things We Cannot See, then this is another must-read. You won’t be disappointed!

    Believe it or not, this is Rachel Barenbaum’s debut book. She brings us to Russia and introduces us to the brother-sister duo Miri and Vanya. Russia is on the brink of war with Germany. Things aren’t

    A Bend in the Stars is easily my favorite book that I’ve read this year – hence the 5 star rating I’m giving it! It will be hard for any other books to be more thoroughly loved in 2019. If you read and loved For All The Things We Cannot See, then this is another must-read. You won’t be disappointed!

    Believe it or not, this is Rachel Barenbaum’s debut book. She brings us to Russia and introduces us to the brother-sister duo Miri and Vanya. Russia is on the brink of war with Germany. Things aren’t easy, especially for science-based practices. This makes things difficult for Miri, who practices as a surgeon (rare for women at this time!), and Vanya, a physicist competing with the famous Albert Einstein to explain relativity. Their practices bring many challenges and critiques, and with conscription brewing, their lives are turned upside down. When Vanya goes missing, Miri is forced to face reality and fight for the brother she loves most.

    I really enjoyed that this book took us into Russia history and successfully explored the sciences without it being overkill; it was artfully folded in. I never thought that science in Russia would be such a conspiracy, or be thought of as witchcraft! The other thing that really pulled me into this book was how much I related to Miri as a woman trying to prove herself as an equal without it being overdone. No matter what, Miri fights for her beliefs and does her best even though she may feel like that’s not enough. I never cry, but I cried through the end of this book and I had chills. It was just. That. Good.

    Clearly, I could go on and on about how much I loved this book. Mark your calendars because it’s coming out on May 14th! You don’t want to miss it!

    Thank you so much to Netgalley and Grand Central Publishing for providing me with an advanced copy of this book. I have voluntarily read this book and the review provided expresses my own personal opinion.

  • Karun

    What an adventure! Through war, angry mobs, desparate train rides, I felt the excitement of the race, and the fear, love, and loss along the way. This is a great read. I can’t wait to share it with my friends and family.

Best Books Online is in no way intended to support illegal activity. Use it at your risk. We uses Search API to find books/manuals but doesn´t host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners. Please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them


©2019 Best Books Online - All rights reserved.