All the Greys on Greene Street

All the Greys on Greene Street

SoHo, 1981. Twelve-year-old Olympia is an artist—and in her neighborhood, that's normal. Her dad and his business partner Apollo bring antique paintings back to life, while her mother makes intricate sculptures in a corner of their loft, leaving Ollie to roam the streets of New York with her best friends Richard and Alex, drawing everything that catches her eye.Then everyt...

DownloadRead Online
Title:All the Greys on Greene Street
Author:Laura Tucker
Rating:
Edition Language:English

All the Greys on Greene Street Reviews

  • Tory

    You know what? Biting the bullet. Five stars. This is a book written by an AUTHOR. Laura Tucker is someone who knows how to WRITE: to create characters, scenarios, settings, dialogue that all are from-the-gut authentic. Her words are phenomenal. Descriptions: evocative; tangible. The characters are jump-off-the-page REAL. Maybe we've seen a few too many mom-depressed-in-bed books lately, but I'm sorry, I'm going to keep reading them to remember how much my depression affects the people around me

    You know what? Biting the bullet. Five stars. This is a book written by an AUTHOR. Laura Tucker is someone who knows how to WRITE: to create characters, scenarios, settings, dialogue that all are from-the-gut authentic. Her words are phenomenal. Descriptions: evocative; tangible. The characters are jump-off-the-page REAL. Maybe we've seen a few too many mom-depressed-in-bed books lately, but I'm sorry, I'm going to keep reading them to remember how much my depression affects the people around me: to see beyond myself and keep trying to heal. Ollie is real. Richard is real. Alex is real. Apollo is real, and I want to live in their fire-escape, playground, cavorting-around-SoHo-world right there with them. Take me out for Zombie Chinese. I want to see the Terrorpole and Alex's "pet ledge." I stepped into their world for 307 pages, and I want to live with them longer. Lush, descriptive, big-hearted, REAL.

  • Vikki VanSickle

    A sensitive portrait of a young girl struggling with her place in the world after her father runs off to France for mysterious reasons and her mother retreats to her bedroom and will not come out. Ollie has great friends and adults in her life, but she goes out of her way to ensure they don't realize how dire the situation is at home with her mother, clearly suffering from depression. NYC in the 1980s is just as vibrant a character as Ollie's friends and neighbours. A great middle grade read for

    A sensitive portrait of a young girl struggling with her place in the world after her father runs off to France for mysterious reasons and her mother retreats to her bedroom and will not come out. Ollie has great friends and adults in her life, but she goes out of her way to ensure they don't realize how dire the situation is at home with her mother, clearly suffering from depression. NYC in the 1980s is just as vibrant a character as Ollie's friends and neighbours. A great middle grade read for fans of Rebecca Stead, Susin Nielsen, or Kate DiCamillo.

  • Kristen Unger

    A cat loving artist protagonist and a compelling plot. The voice rings clear and true. In Olympia, a young artist’s eye, heart, and soul are well captured.

  • Lily (Night Owl Book Cafe)

    3.5 solid stars!

    12-year-old Olympia is an artist living in SoHo in 1981, which isn’t all that uncommon in her neighborhood. Her father and his friend Apollo bring antique paintings back to life, while her mother sees the beauty in everything and makes intricate sculptures out of everyday ordinary items. But one morning she wakes up and her father has left the country, leaving her and her mom alone and now her mom won’t get out of bed. The only thing he left behind was a cryptic note that he aske

    3.5 solid stars!

    12-year-old Olympia is an artist living in SoHo in 1981, which isn’t all that uncommon in her neighborhood. Her father and his friend Apollo bring antique paintings back to life, while her mother sees the beauty in everything and makes intricate sculptures out of everyday ordinary items. But one morning she wakes up and her father has left the country, leaving her and her mom alone and now her mom won’t get out of bed. The only thing he left behind was a cryptic note that he asked for it to be destroyed. Apollo is acting strange and someone keeps calling for missing artwork.

    This was a quiet, well-written book that circles around family, friendship, art, and mystery. It touches on the subject of depression and what it means living with a parent who suffers from depression. It was easy to forget at times that Olympia was only 12-year-old girl that did not know how to deal with her mother unable to get out of bed and some of the scenes tugged on my heartstrings for the little girl that held out hope. But it was nice to see that when she finally let them, Olympia did have a great support network behind her back that ended up being there for when she needed them most. I liked that it revolved around art and there was even a bit of a mystery thrown into the mix.

    Laura Tucker’s writing overall is quiet and beautiful. Tucker really knows how to flesh out her characters and make them appear human. I found myself sympathizing with her.

    That being said, however, I struggled with the pacing of the book. I felt like the story started out and ended strong, but it meandered a bit in the middle. It could have been a bit shorter. The subject matter for middle grade was a little hard, but depression can hit an adult any point in child life, even if it is something hard to read. I also do wish the time period was used a bit more in the writing. The story is definitely very character and art driven, but it was set in 1981 in SoHo and I found the time and setting interesting choice.

    Overall. I thought this was a lovely written debut that makes me extremely excited for future works from this author. It touched on tough subjects, but very important ones. I thought in general, the author handled it really well and I cannot wait to see what she does next.

  • Hannah

    While Ollie sticks to graphite grey in her drawings, Tucker's debut vibrates with vivid color in its strong sense of place and well-sketched characters. It has that timeless quintessence that evokes such New York City adventures as Harriet the Spy and The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankenweiler, and it is sure to delight fans of Rebecca Stead and Laura Marx.

Best Books Online is in no way intended to support illegal activity. Use it at your risk. We uses Search API to find books/manuals but doesn´t host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners. Please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them


©2019 Best Books Online - All rights reserved.